Administration/Organization

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Welcome

The Community Development Department is an integral part of the Sandy City government. It is charged with overseeing the growth and development of Sandy City while at the same time enhancing the quality of life for Sandy City citizens.  The Community Development Departments commitment is to properly and professional guide the development of the city while protecting the quality of life for its citizens.

Department Organization

The Community Development Department consists of three divisions:

The Community Development Department also provides support staff for three City Boards and Commission as well as two citizen committees.

Department Staff

Administration
James Sorensen
Director
Phone: 801-568-7270
Email: jsorense@sandy.utah.gov
Jared Gerber, AICP
Assistant Department Director
Phone: 801-568-7265
Email:  jgerber@sandy.utah.gov
Lesley Casaril
Business License Administrator
Phone: 801-568-7252
Email: lcasaril@sandy.utah.gov
Jennifer Ford
Department Executive Assistant
Phone: 801-568-7250
Email: jford@sandy.utah.gov
Planning Division
Brian McCuistion
Planning Director
Phone:801-568-7268
Email: bmccuistion@sandy.utah.gov
Doug Wheelwright           
Development Services Manager
Phone: 801-568-7255
Email: dwheelwright@sandy.utah.gov
Jake Warner 
Long Range Planning Manager, CDBG Program Administrator
Phone: 801-568-7262
Email: jwarner@sandy.utah.gov
Mike Wilcox
Zoning Administrator, Residential/Commercial Development
Phone: 801-568-7261
Email: mwilcox@sandy.utah.gov
Wade Sanner, AICP
Planner           
Phone: 801-568-7269
Email: wsanner@sandy.utah.gov
Craig Evans
Planner
Phone: 801-568-7267
Email: cevans@sandy.utah.gov

Claire Hague

Zoning Technician

Phone: 801-568-7205

Email: chague@sandy.utah.gov

Jennifer Gillen
Information Specialist, Bond Specialist
Phone: 801-568-7271
Email: jgillen@sandy.utah.gov
Brynn Bohlender
Planning Division Administrative Assistant
Phone: 801-568-7256
Email: bbohlender@sandy.utah.gov
Building & Code Compliance Department
Phone: 801-568-7258
Scott Marsell
Chief Building Official
Phone: 801-568-7263
Email: smarsell@sandy.utah.gov
Jim McClintic
Commercial Plans Examiner
Phone: 801-568-7266
Email: jmcclintic@sandy.utah.gov
Nelson Hooton
Residential Plans Examiner
Phone: 801-568-7272
Email: nhooton@sandy.utah.gov
Adam Ray
Building Inspector
Phone: 801-568-7274
Email: aray@sandy.utah.gov
Rob Durfee
Building Inspector
Phone: 801-568-6054
Email: rdurfee@sandy.utah.gov
Don Slick
Building Inspector
Phone: 801-568-7264
Email: djslick@sandy.utah.gov
Buck Post
Building Inspector

Phone: 801-568-6055
Email: bpost@sandy.utah.gov

Willie Chidester

Building Inspector

Phone: 801-568-6094
Email: wchidester@sandy.utah.gov
Mark Wooten
Code Compliance Supervisor
Phone: 801-568-7273
Email: mwooten@sandy.utah.gov
Todd Nielsen
Code Officer
Phone: 801-568-6088
Email: tnielsen@sandy.utah.gov
James Chiampi
Code Officer
Phone: 801-568-7259
Email: jchiampi@sandy.utah.gov
Brad Hunter
Code Officer
Phone:801-568-7258
Email: bhunter@sandy.utah.gov
Shalyn Whetman
Permit Technician
Phone: 801-568-7251
Email: swhetman@sandy.utah.gov
Amy Anderton
Code Compliance Technician
Phone: 801-568-7254
Email: aanderton@sandy.utah.gov