Lime Scooter Guide

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Lime Scooter
Feet gathered around a lime scooter

Sandy City - Lime Scooters Guide

lime scooter logo

DOWNLOAD THE APP To use Sandy City's Lime scooters, which is available for both Apple and Android systems. Once you set up an account, you'll be able to use scooters anywhere and at any time. Use the How To Lime guide for help.

Lime scooter app on a smartphone

apple app download google play app download

  • The Lime app shows a map of all scooters available to borrow in an area and their location, plus how much battery time is left on each scooter. When you find a scooter you like, you'll use the app to unlock the scooter.
  • After your ride is finished, you'll park it and check back in.
  • Anyone can use the scooters for an initial fee of $1 and then 25 cents per minute.

Sandy City - Lime Scooters Guide (continued)

Lime scooters are fun to ride, however they can be dangerous if not used properly. Scooter riders should use designated bike lanes to travel.

  • If a bike lane is not available, scooters can use the streets, but must drive with the flow of traffic and follow all traffic laws.
  • If you have to ride on the sidewalk, pedestrians have the right-of-way.
  • Riders should use hand signals so drivers are aware of their intentions.

 

If you know you're going to be riding a scooter, consider bringing a helmet and other safety equipment along.

  • Lime scooters can reach speeds of up to 14.8 miles an hour — and sometimes even faster going downhill. They also don't handle well on uneven surfaces or road obstructions like potholes.
  • Emergency rooms in cities where scooters have launched have noticed an uptick in scooter-related injuries, including "broken noses, wrists and shoulders, along with facial lacerations and fractures," according to the Washington Post. It's become enough of a trend that the Center for Disease Control and Prevention launched a study of e-scooter-related injuries earlier this year.

Because e-scooters can be dropped off anywhere, they can end up being a public nuisance instead of a convenience when riders don't treat them properly.

  • When you're finished with a scooter, don't throw it in the middle of the sidewalk and walk away. Park it upright next to the curb, away from bus stops, driveways, crosswalks, or service ramps.
  • Do not park scooters on private property or lean them against buildings.
  • It should go without saying, but please also don't light scooters on fire or throw them in waterways and other inaccessible areas.
  • DO NOT park scooters in front of entrances or exits of private property (such as driveways) or block access to bus stops or ADA compliant ramps.
  • DO park scooters off the sidewalk, in a place it won't block pedestrian or vehicle traffic. If there's a designated e-scooter parking area, use that!
  • DO NOT use scooters on streets with a speed limit higher than 35 miles per hour.
  • DO use and enjoy scooters on streets with a speed limit 35 miles per hour or lower.
  • DO NOT just jump on the scooter and ride off.
  • DO test the controls slowly first and make sure the brakes are working effectively.
  • The hours of operation are between 5 a.m. and midnight every day.
  • The scooters will only be operable in the areas from 8600 South to 11400 South and east of I-15 to 700 East.
Lime Scooter Map For Sandy Utah